DE

100 years of the BURG

With its range of courses and teaching and its workshops in its Art and Design faculties, Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design Halle combines continuity with a permanent focus on new needs in an ideal manner. In our anniversary year, the “Stations of the BURG” project – a dynamic, synoptic history platform – will be created.

When the architect Paul Thiersch was appointed as the new director of the Craft School in Halle in 1915, the gradual transformation of this training institution into a modern, practice-oriented art and craft school with training and production workshops began; indeed, this appointment is regarded as the starting point of our history. Thiersch’s ideas in this regard were in line with the goals of the German Association of Craftsmen (Deutscher Werkbund), of which he was a member. His aim was for a systematic re-organisation: in his eyes, “craft training” also had to be “artistic training too from the very beginning”. Thus a class specialising in women’s arts and crafts and a class in sculpture– under the guidance of Gustav Weidanz – were established in the new arts and crafts department. In 1918, the school was renamed the Art and Craft School of the City of Halle.

Further systematic expansion of the workshops up to 1933 (including the establishment of workshops for metalwork, building ceramics, pottery, bookbinding and textiles) delivered visible results: the school acquired a lasting positive reputation as one of the most influential art schools in Germany alongside the Bauhaus thanks to the products emanating from its workshops and, in particular, the contributions of its specialist classes to various major furnishing and fitting projects. When the Nazis came to power, the BURG went through a difficult period; many teachers (including all former Bauhaus artists and designers) were fired and many classes were discontinued.

A turbulent phase of re-orientation followed after the end of the Second World War: the impacts of the prescriptive cultural policy that accompanied the so-called formalism debate in the GDR hindered continuous development. In 1958, the BURG was granted university status as the University for Industrial Design Halle – Burg Giebichenstein. In the years that followed, design departments with increasingly broad focal areas were established. With its theory-based and practice-oriented training and teaching, the BURG gained a reputation as the most influential educational institution for designers alongside the School of Art and Design in Berlin-Weissensee over the next few decades. It played a decisive role in the particular artistic quality of craftwork in the GDR with its training in applied art disciplines. In 1972, the opportunities for training in graphic design, painting and sculpture – which had previously been limited under the constraints of “applied art” – were broadened and the quality of artistic education was thus strengthened. In academic terms, the BURG also established its reputation with the design studies colloquia that were held regularly from 1977 onwards.

After the fall of the Berlin Wall in 1989, the university was again re-organised and, after various phases of internal and external evaluation, was allowed to retain its status as an art and design university. The education and training programmes of all courses areas were revised. As a reaction to the changed patterns of use of new media in society as a whole, the use of new media was actively promoted first in the Design faculty and then later too in the Art faculty. Specialised media-oriented disciplines were subsequently established. In addition, the disciplines of Art Education and Art Pedagogy were established. From 1992 onwards, the first publications were produced by the university publishing office.

With the opening of the Gallery in the Volkspark in Halle in early summer in 2000, the university now has its own exhibition spaces that host ‘Diplom’ project presentations as well as other teaching-related exhibitions with unifying themes. From 2005 onwards, the university intensified its international contacts and activities. It is a member of the Cumulus International Association of European universities and of ELIA (European League of Institutes of the Arts). Within the framework of the ERASMUS programme, the BURG has cooperation agreements with 53 partner universities in 20 countries in Europe, and we also have direct contacts with art schools in countries such as Canada, Japan, the USA, China, India, Vietnam and Cuba. In 2010, the university changed its name to Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design Halle with the publishing of the amended Higher University Act of the federal state of Saxony-Anhalt in July of that year.

The anniversary celebrations to mark the BURG’s centenary are an opportunity to showcase the current artistic, design and theoretical potential of the university in a regional and international context, and also to refer back to the most important strands of the school’s traditions from today’s viewpoint, to extrapolate into the future, and to develop and present new ideas.

More about the history of the BURG (only in German):
www.burg-halle.de/hochschule/hochschulkultur/geschichte.html

EN

100 Jahre Burg

Die heutige Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle verbindet mit ihrem Lehrangebot und ihren Werkstätten in den beiden Fachbereichen Kunst und Design auf herausragende Weise Kontinuität und stete Orientierung an neuen Erfordernissen. Im Jubiläumsjahr wird hier das Projekt „Stationen der BURG“, eine dynamische synoptische Geschichtsplattform, entstehen.

Mit der Berufung des Architekten Paul Thiersch als neuem Direktor an die hallesche Handwerkerschule begann 1915 – der „Geburtsstunde“ – der schrittweise Umbau der Ausbildungsstätte zu einer modernen, an der Praxis orientierten Kunstgewerbeschule mit ausbildenden und produzierenden Werkstätten. Thierschs Ideen dazu folgten den Zielen des Deutschen Werkbundes, dessen Mitglied er war. Er strebte eine konsequente Neuorganisation an, in seinen Augen musste die „kunsthandwerkliche Erziehung ... vom ersten Augenblick an auch eine künstlerische sein“. So wurden in der neuen Kunstgewerbeabteilung eine Fachklasse für kunstgewerbliche Frauenarbeiten und eine Klasse für Bildhauerei, geleitet von Gustav Weidanz, etabliert. 1918 erfolgte die Umbenennung in Handwerker- und Kunstgewerbeschule der Stadt Halle.

Der weitere systematische Ausbau der Werkstätten bis 1933 (u.a. die Einrichtung einer Werkstatt für Metallbearbeitung, für Baukeramik, für Töpferei, die Eröffnung einer Buchbindewerkstatt und einer Textilwerkstatt) führte zu sichtbaren Erfolgen. Denn mit den Erzeugnissen ihrer Werkstätten, ganz besonders aber durch die Mitarbeit der Fachklassen bei verschiedenen größeren Ausstattungsaufträgen, erwarb sich die Schule einen nachhaltig guten Ruf – als die einflussreichste deutsche Kunstschule neben dem Bauhaus. Mit dem Machtantritt der Nationalsozialisten erlebte die BURG schwere Zeiten, viele Lehrer (darunter alle ehemaligen Bauhäusler) wurden entlassen, zahlreiche Klassen geschlossen.

Nach dem Krieg folgte eine unruhige Phase der Neuorientierung: Die Auswirkungen einer doktrinären Kulturpolitik im Zuge der sogenannten Formalismusdebatte erschwerten eine kontinuierliche Entwicklung. 1958 erhielt die BURG, als Hochschule für industrielle Formgestaltung Halle – Burg Giebichenstein, ihren universitären Status. In den folgenden Jahren konnte die erneute planvolle Einrichtung immer breiter aufgestellter Designabteilungen realisiert werden. Die Burg profilierte sich in den folgenden Jahrzehnten mit ihrer theoretisch fundierten und praxisnahen Lehre neben der Kunsthochschule in Berlin-Weißensee als einflussreichste Ausbildungsstätte für Designer. Sie wirkte mit der Ausbildung in den Fachrichtungen der angewandten Kunst bestimmend für die besondere künstlerische Qualität des Kunsthandwerks in der DDR. 1972 wurden die als „Angewandte Kunst“ eingeschränkten Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten in Grafik, Malerei und Plastik aufgehoben und damit die Qualität der künstlerischen Ausbildung gestärkt. Auch wissenschaftlich machte sich die BURG einen Namen und zwar mit den ab 1977 kontinuierlich veranstalteten Designwissenschaftlichen Kolloquien.

Nach der Wende 1989 wurde die Hochschule erneut organisatorisch umgestaltet und konnte nach verschiedenen Phasen der inneren und äußeren Evaluierung ihren Kunsthochschulstatus erhalten. In allen Studiengängen wurden die Ausbildungsprogramme überarbeitet. Auf den veränderten Gebrauch von neuen Medien in der Gesellschaft reagierend, wurde zunächst im Fachbereich Design, später auch in der Kunst, der Einsatz der Neuen Medien auf allen Gebieten forciert. In der Folge wurden spezialisierte medienorientierte Fachgebiete gegründet. Außerdem wurden die Studienrichtungen Kunsterziehung und Kunstpädagogik neu eingerichtet. Ab 1992 erschienen zudem erste Publikationen im hochschuleigenen Verlag.

Seit Frühsommer 2000 besitzt die Hochschule mit der Galerie im Volkspark Halle eigene Ausstellungsräume, in denen neben Diplompräsentationen thematisch konzipierte Ausstellungen stattfinden, die mit der Lehre verbunden sind. Ab 2005 verstärkte die Hochschule ihre internationalen Kontakte und Aktivitäten. Sie ist Mitglied im Cumulus-Verbund der Europäischen Hochschulen und Mitglied von ELIA (European League of Institutes of the Arts). Im Rahmen des ERASMUS-Programms unterhält sie Kooperationsvereinbarungen mit 53 Partnerschulen in 20 Ländern innerhalb Europas, daneben bestehen direkte Kontakte unter anderem mit Kunsthochschulen in Kanada, Japan, den USA, China, Indien, Vietnam und Kuba. 2010 änderte die Hochschule mit der Veröffentlichung der Novellierung des Hochschulgesetzes des Landes Sachsen-Anhalt im Juli ihren Namen in Burg Giebichenstein Kunsthochschule Halle.

Das Jubiläum anlässlich des 100-jährigen Bestehens der Burg ermöglicht es, das gegenwärtige künstlerische, gestalterische und theoretische Potential der Kunsthochschule regional und international vorzustellen und dabei sowohl auf die aus heutiger Sicht wichtigsten Traditionslinien Bezug zu nehmen, als auch in die Zukunft zu denken und neue Ideen zu entwickeln und zu präsentieren.

Mehr zur BURG-Geschichte unter:
www.burg-halle.de/hochschule/hochschulkultur/geschichte.html